Hello Pinterest Creators!
I am wondering if anyone has experience with the deletion of old pins and how this can affect the reach of your account. Is it helpful to delete old pins that no longer match our current branding and are perhaps not performing well, or will this end in us being penalized by the algorithm? We have seen conflicting reports in our online searches, so any help is very much appreciated! 🙂
Thanks in advance!
Hi @beaconpointe ! I personally have not experienced any penalties from the algorithm for deleting pins. However, I don't prefer to delete pins as a practice. Rather, I created a private board and move those pins there. That way, if I later feel like those pins are salvageable in any way, I can still retrieve them.
Additionally, when I shifted the style of my pins, I still didn't delete the old ones because, for a while there, they picked up traffic. Also, I don't delete based on lack of traffic for similar reasons. You never know what might pick up and when!
I hope this was helpful.
Hi @beaconpointe! @hellohomegirl gave you a great response up there!
I rarely delete pins and don't recommend this to students or clients - mostly because I think it's better to spend your time creating new ones! Also, keep in mind that - if anyone re-pinned you pin - those "copies" will not be deleted when you delete the one on your board.