Pinterest Predicts is live!
See what's in store for 2024 in our Trend Forecast report.

Overall Social Media stats down during the holidays

MillsDigitalMedia_Macy
Just visiting
Labels (4)

As a social media manager I always see the algorithm go a little crazy on Social sites during this time. Asa meta creator I know Instagram algorithms go a bit off right now. Do you all find that Pinterest does the same? Or is it the opposite?

1 Kudo
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JanaOMedia
Marvel

It depends on a lot on your niche... vertical... what you offer... who is in your audience and what their focus is right now. The classic examples of this are... the food vertical, which historically sees higher reach this time of year. The Wellness vertical sees fewer, but things pick up right after Christmas.

So it really just depends on a lot of factors. 

I think Pinterest is due to release its next earnings report in February. So that generally gives us info on general overall usership - but of course it's retroactive. (Meaning they will tell us if usership was up or down for the last quarter of 2022.) 

View solution in original post

2 Kudos
3 Replies
bodymindmood
Pinterest Pioneer
Pinterest Pioneer

@MillsDigitalMedia_Macy 

That's a great question! Glad you made it to the PBC!

Yes, the numbers get a little weird during this season. I also know that Pinterest is doing a lot of testing and making changes et al. so sometimes the numbers go way down and then boom they come back up. It can take a few days or it can be months for some pinners to see changes. We often have people here in the PBC who are seeing drastic drops in their numbers and others who are not affected by the numbers at all.